06/14/2024 09:45:13 AM

Other US Mint Silver Coins

Other US Mint Silver Coins at BGASC

While the US Mint is known for the American Eagle line of coinage, they also produce other popular coins and coin programs that captivate investors and collectors alike. With a lot of history from the US Mint, there are a lot of popular options to choose from. Learn more about Other US Mint Silver Coins at BGASC, right here.

90% Silver US Coins

Modern silver bullion coins all have at least a .999 pure silver purity. However, there was a time when silver coins were issued with a 90% purity, hence the name 90% Silver US Coins.

The US Mint first started producing coins in 1792. These coins were made of a copper and silver mixture which gave circulation coins more durability. From 1794 to 1836, most $1 coins were made up of 89.2% silver and 10.8% copper. However, with the introduction of the Seated Liberty design on the dime, quarter, half-dollar, and dollar, the US Mint upped the silver content in the mixture to 90%.

This new mix of 90% silver and 10% copper was used until 1964. Collectors and investors purchase 90% Silver US Coins as they’re a more affordable option than most modern bullion coins, especially in bulk.

The US Dime, Quarter, Half-Dollar, and Dollar Coins all have 90% silver options. This encapsulates the following designs:

  • US Dollar: Seated Liberty, Morgan Dollar, Peace Dollar (last date mark 1935)
  • US Half-Dollar: Seated Liberty, Barber Coinage, Walking Liberty, Benjamin Franklin, Kennedy Half-Dollar (through 1964 only)
  • US Quarter: Seated Liberty, Barber Coinage, Standing Liberty, Washington Quarter (through 1964 only)
  • US Dime: Seated Liberty, Barber Coinage, Mercury/ Winged Liberty, Roosevelt Dime (through 1964 only)

Oftentimes, you’ll hear 90% Silver US Coins referred to as “Junk Silver.” This term is used for these coins as 90% Silver US Coins offer no numismatic value in terms of collectability.

Silver Dollars

As mentioned above, there are a few Silver Dollar designs used throughout history, including the Eisenhower Silver Dollar Coins, which were used after the Peace Dollar. However, the two most common and popular Silver Dollar coins are the Morgan Silver Dollar and the Peace Silver Dollar.

After a break in Silver Dollars from 1873 to 1877, Silver Dollars were reintroduced with a new design on the obverse and reverse, both from George T. Morgan. The obverse of these coins features a left-profile relief portrait of Lady Liberty. The reverse showcases a heraldic eagle design. These coins were issued annually from 1878 to 1904, then had a 1-year comeback in 1921.

In total, five branches of the US Mint struck these Morgan Silver Dollars.

  • Philadelphia Mint: 305,446,347 (1878-1921)
  • New Orleans Mint: 186,097,629 (1879-1904)
  • San Francisco Mint: 131,188,373 (1878-1921)
  • Denver Mint: 20,345,000 (1921)
  • Carson City Mint: 13,766,041 (1878-1885, 1889-1893)

The passage of the Pittman Act in 1918 required the US Mint to strike millions of silver dollars, in 1921 they started to release the Peace Silver Dollar, designed by Anthony de Francisci. Similar to the Morgan Silver Dollar, the obverse displayed a left-profile relief image of Lady Liberty. However, Liberty was seen with a radiate crown. The reverse presented a bald eagle in right-profile relief, perched on a mound, holding an olive branch.

These coins were struck annually from 1921 to 1928, and then again from 1934 to 1935. In total, three branches of the US Mint struck these coins.

  • Philadelphia Mint: 111,230,179 (1921-1935)
  • San Francisco Mint: 52,286,000 (1922-1935)
  • Denver Mint: 27,061,100 (1922-1923, 1926-1927, 1934)

America the Beautiful Series

In 1997, the US Mint created a 50 State Quarters program. These quarters displayed unique designs on the reverse for all 50 states. The success led to the US Mint creating a similar program for bullion coinage, known as the America the Beautiful series.

This series is a 56-coin collection that released 5 new coins every year, starting in 2010. These coins are 5 Troy oz of .999 pure silver. All 50 states are featured plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the South Virgin Islands.

The obverse of these coins features a left-profile relief effigy of George Washington. This image was refined by John Flanagan in 1932.

Purchasing Other US Mint Silver Coins at BGASC

For any questions regarding Other US Mint Silver Coins, contact the BGASC customer service team today. Our team can be reached via email, through our online chat feature, or by calling us at 888-992-4272.